First time

A couple of months has passed since my last post, but a lot of change has happened in my life.  A lot of “first times.”

For the first time, I am…

…living away from home,

earning a “real” salary,

and getting better.


…living away from home,

Image result for columbus ohio

For my entire life, I have lived mostly on the east coast with a theme of fast-paced and punctuality.  It was a place that could either make or break you if you strived to be great.  However, since our move to the Midwest in Columbus, Ohio, there was a brief cultural shock.  A much slower pace.  An area with more nature, quieter, and cleaner environment.  And, (drum roll) friendlier people!  It’s hard to describe this sudden lifestyle change, but so far, my wife and I really enjoy and embrace it!

earning a “real” salary,

Image result for beach freedom

For a long time, I never held a “real” job.  My career path since my college graduation had been rocky and challenging.  I went through a career change, held random part-time jobs, and overcame pressure points in my life before finally stabilizing myself.  At last, I finally finished school, and, for the first time, I earn a salary that can support myself and my family.  Yes, I did have to rely on my parents post-college, but eventually, I became independent.

and getting better.

Image result for journey is more important than the beginning or end

Sitting back and reflecting on everything that’s happened so far, it’s still surreal to me on where I started to where I am today.  Earlier in my life, I want to speed things up and get to my finish line.  But God and life has taught me that I had a lot of learning to do before I could finally check off some of my life goals.  It took a while, but I finally made progress.  I still stumble and make mistakes, but I always continue to learn and strive for greatness.


unnamed

Above is a picture from our baby shower on 9/1/2018.  My wife’s due date is officially 11/4/2018 and we are both super nervous and anxious.  As many people have warned us, this will be a life-changing event.  While we both have enjoyed our married life together, it’s about that time to start that future family.  Our circumstances are not quite ideal, but I’ll save that for another entry.  This will be the last entry before I officially become a father.  I don’t know how to feel nor do I know exactly what to expect, but I will keep faith that everything will be fine.  

I am ready for this next “first time.” 😊

Leave a comment

Filed under July 2013

Leave a comment