First week

Talking with friends who currently work, we often reminisce the “good ole college days.”  Our fond memories were of the crazy things we did and friends we made.  Being able to remember and converse those past events was like watching a rerun of your favorite episode of a TV show.  Often times, when we meet a person who is just starting college for the first time, we get very jealous since we know that person will get to experience all the fun aspects of college that we had.

“Gosh, I miss those times!”

“Yeah, I wish were back in college again.” 

Post-college life is very different.  Typically, when you enter work, you will find that it can be very stressful and exhausting.

Gone are the days where every year is something new and different.
Gone are the days where you can easily meet up with friends and have a good time.
Gone are the days where you are superman and can do anything and everything.

While my post-college journey was atypical compared to most, it was never the same.

Now, I want to ask you this:
What if you were given a chance to have that experience it all again?
After having that college experience under your belt, what would it be like to do it all over again now?

With that in mind, here are some snapshots from my first/orientation week at dental school.

nyu1

August 18, 2014 @ 8:00 am. In an auditorium with 359 of my fellow classmates.

nyu2

My official student ID for the next 4 years.

nyu3

Myself with 6 other fellow classmates. This is us getting ready to go on the scheduled booze cruise.

All 360 of us (my dental school class) are in the same boat (no pun intended).  We come from all different places and walks of life.  It’s nice to know that there’s a lot of people around my age since we can relate in terms of life experience.  There is a huge difference in conversing with “older” classmates than with classmates fresh out of college since age plays a significant difference in maturity.  It’s not to say that people out of college are immature, but rather, years of life experience (in my case, 4 years post-college), gives you a different mentality in how you live and approach things.

No one knows each other, but we all know that we will be seeing each other everyday for the next 4 years (like high school!).  Before starting school, the biggest tip from NYU dental students is to make FRIENDS.  Not just for social purposes, but you will need each other for study groups and resources in order to survive dental school.  Having that graduate school work under my belt will give me an edge on the sciences and, while I am always prepared to do things alone, studying with classmates for exams ALWAYS helps.

It’s a far cry from what I’ve been raised with:

“Survival of the fittest.” A phrase in the evolutionary theory, which best describes natural selection.

I actually look forward to starting classes next Tuesday (August 26, 2014).
While dental school will be very tough, I feel so ready to take it head-on.
It was through God’s grace that got me here today and it will be His grace that will help me to succeed.

Leave a comment

Filed under August 2014

Leave a Reply

