Vindicated

It’s the new year.

A new beginning.

A lot has happened this year with the biggest news of finally obtaining admissions to dental school this application cycle.

For those who have been following since my xanga years or who know of my past struggles, you can truly understand how much of big deal this is.

After the huge debacle from my nursing school, I spent the next 2 years recovering from the hurt I got there.  Thanks to the power of church, prayer, and the grace of God, I was finally able to find a peace of mind and emotionally overcome it.

Unfortunately, the scars of my nursing school would continue to haunt me.  While it’s true that admissions to dental school has gotten harder in recent years, I was dealt with a heavy hand.  Aside from my emotional recovery, overcoming this baggage to get into dental school turned out to be the greatest challenge I have ever faced in my life.

My nursing baggage scared the dental school admission committees because it raised a question about my competency as a student.  You can only imagine how frustraing this was on me.  To make matters worse, there was no advice on how best to solve this.

Could this truly be something so great that no one can overcome it?

During the past 2-3 years, there wasn’t a single moment where I hadn’t pondered about this, however, I still felt convicted that dentistry was my calling.  When you feel called to something, you do whatever it takes to fulfill it.  Despite the negativity and doubts that I was constantly bombared with, I still continued to believe.

If God hadn’t intended for me to be in dentistry, it would have ended for me a long time ago.

Signs for this 3rd application cycle pointed in a positive direction since I was nailing more interviews than the previous 2 cycles.  However, I had to remain cautious.  Sure, interviews are great, but I’ve done this dance many times before being rejected.

I just didn’t want to be disappointed again.

Since this was my last year of applying, I was also getting ready to move on.  To be quite honest, I did not have a concrete back-up plan.  After completing graduate school, I debated whether to take some time off.  While I don’t have any impeding deadlines, I’m very cognizant about my age and how I should trying to stablize my life ASAP.  I’m not a child anymore and I can’t be living off of my parents forever.  Dentistry is not my idol and I wasn’t going to die over it.  However, with that said, killing my calling would be a huge set-back for me and force me to reflect and rethink my life.

I would have been forever bitter at my nursing school for doing this to me.

When the news finally broke that I finally got in on December 2, 2013, I breathed a deep sigh of relief.  I finally knew where I would be after I finished graduate school.  My family and I finally found peace with the knowledge that I would have a stable job and future.

I will begin a new chapter in my life.

I hope this ordeal will serve as a testimony and inspiration to all who are struggling in life.  While everyone has their own unique circumstances, I just want to emphasize the point on the importance of relying on God.  He helped me emotionally recover and conquer this baggage.  Without Him, my nursing baggage would have eaten me alive.

The nightmare was finally over.    

I was finally vindicated.

I’m finally free.

2 Comments

Filed under January 2014

2 responses to “Vindicated

  1. Amanda

    Sweet song! A new journey ahead, “Wings of Joy” to follow. Take one day at a time. If you can overcome this chances are you overcome smaller things in life. 🙂 Thanks for sharing. Good luck tomorrow!

  2. Youwen

    Max Jerry Horowitz said:” The reason I forgive you is because you are not perfect. You are imperfect. And so am I. All humans are imperfect. Even the man outside my apartment who litters. When I was young, I wanted to be anybody but myself. Dr. Bernard Hasselhoff said if I was on a desert island, then I would have to get used to my own company. Just me? and the coconuts. He said I would have to accept myself: my warts and all. And that we don’t get to choose our warts. They are a part of us and we have to live with them.” SO, If the scars of your nursing school would never stop to haunt you, just leave it there, let it be there, after time goes on, it bring you courage to overcome everything that would be more challenge in your life. Max Jerry Horowitz also said:” We can however, choose our friends. And I am glad I have chosen you. Dr. Bernard Hasselhoff also said that everyone’s lives are like a very long sidewalk. Some are well paved. Others, like mine, have cracks, banana skins and cigarette butts. Your sidewalk is like mine, but probably not as many cracks. Hopefully, one day our sidewalks will meet and we can share a can of condensed milk.” THEN, I am so glad I have met you at landmark, I am so glad you are the one who is always there to take care of me. Put our faith on each other! I am glad that I choose to trust you. I trust you with my whole heart. Hopefully, one day we can build up a bear together. Gah:)

Leave a Reply

