December 2

The moment I woke up, I started checking my email and phone on a frequent basis.  I couldn’t contain my anxiety.  I even spied on the student doctor network forum to see news and updates.

I just needed one school to give me a chance.

Stress and anxiety trickled in as I read about people posting about their acceptance letters.

Disappointed, I decided to go study.

Finally, at 3:47 pm, I received an email from NYU:

Image

I screamed in the computer lab (only my graduate student friend and I were there).

As promised, I immediately texted, emailed, and messaged family members and friends who wanted me to give them the good news the moment it occurred.  I know I promised that I would post here first, but I couldn’t contain my emotions any longer.

While it’s not uncommon to be a re-applicant to dental school, the circumstances I faced were extremely difficult.  My UPenn nursing baggage nearly derailed my chances.  It was so bad that my parents and I weren’t even sure if this was something I could overcome.

I was even told by dental school admission offices and pre-dental advisers to give up.

Despite the constant negativity, I still held out hope.  There were so many times leading up to this point where I could have failed and ended my dental school ambitions.

I could have failed at my post-bac program.
I could have bombed the DAT.
I could have struggled at my graduate school courses.
I could simply be at home, out of school, jobless, hopeless, and feeling sorry for myself.

But, I held out hope because I found it hard to believe that God would have led me all the way this far for nothing.

That’s what kept me going.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Jeremiah 29:11

After 3 long and hard years, I finally got in.

Thank you to everyone who supported and prayed for me.

Hallelujah.

Leave a comment

Filed under December 2013

Leave a Reply

