Thanks for the memories

In my spare time, I check up on friends on Facebook and see how they are doing in life.  Sometimes, I would shoot them a message and try to reconnect with them.

In one particular instance, I discovered that one of my old friends had UNFRIENDED ME!

Now don’t get me wrong.  It’s not the first time I have been unfriended.  In fact, many of the people I had friended in high school have unfriended me a long time ago.  Back when Facebook first came out, everyone friended each other, whether or not they were truly friends.  As years have past, people who take Facebook more personally start to only keep the Facebook friends that they are REALLY friends with.  So it comes as no surprise or offense to me when they decide to unfriend me.

However, the hurt really sets in when you are unfriended by someone who you once hanged out with.  Someone who you considered a close friend once upon a time.

It’s understandable how in the we all live very far apart and it’s really hard to keep in touch, but that’s just one of the many pros of Facebook.  It keep us connected!

So while I recognize that I can’t possibly be EVERYONE’S friend, I do take it to heart when I lose a good friend.  It shouldn’t come as a surprise for the unfriending.  I have made several attempts to reconnect with her, but I was never reciprocated with the same enthusiasm.  Reconnecting with a friend is a two-way street.  In time, our interaction came to a silence.

We had great memories together.  What happened?

Sure, there are many questions I have for this friend, but I suppose I am only left to wonder.  The unfriending on Facebook symbolizes that it’s truly the end.  I’m not going to lie.  I was pretty resentful about it.

Because if I really didn’t care about the friendship, losing you as a “Facebook friend” would mean nothing to me.

The closer friendship, the more it stings.
The thing about me is that I really treasure my friends.
I really do.

But if there’s any silver lining in all of this, it’s that I will always remember the good times we’ve had.  Nothing can ever take that away.

Memories last forever.

Image

1 Comment

Filed under October 2013

One response to “Thanks for the memories

  1. Amanda

    You can always make new friends :).

Leave a Reply

